Clubs & Societies

Looking to get involved in a club or society? Or do you want to create your own club or society? Find the club that you want to join by browsing through our list of ratified clubs and societies.  If you have formed a club or society you can apply for recognition each year for your club  with the GSU. For ratification and recognition, please refer to our consitution available to view here, the relevant bylaws are copied below:

10. Clubs, Associations, societies and resource centres

10.1. Clubs, societies, and resource centers shall be recognized by the GSU upon

10.1.1. submission of the following to the ED Campus Life for consideration,

10.1.2. the names and signatures of at least twenty (20) members that are General Members (Excluding Executives),

10.1.2.1 With the exemption of the student groups directly affiliated with an Academic Unit/Department which shall submit the names and signatures of at least ten (10) members that are General Members, as well as the name and signature of the dean/advisor of the relevant academic unit.

10.1.3. a constitution,
10.1.4. a mission statement for the organization if one is not included in the constitution,

10.1.5. and an up to date list of all executive members including names, department and program of study, student number, and contact details. At least three executive members must be enrolled graduate student in the committee.

10.2. The applications submitted to the Executive Director for Campus Life for consideration will be submitted to the Social Events Committee for review.

10.2.1. The Social Events Committee will supply the BOD with a list of applications for clubs, societies, or resource centers at each monthly BOD meeting for approval.

10.3. Recognized clubs, societies, and resource centers of the GSU shall be ratified at each Semi‐AGM by submitting a ratification form to the Social Events

10.3.1. Application for ratification shall be submitted to the Executive Director for Campus Life (EDCL) and should include:

10.3.1.1. and an up to date list of all executive members including names, department and study of program, student number, and contact details. At least three executive members must be in the committee as an enrolled graduate

10.3.1.2. a list of events and activities that occurred since the last ratification,

10.3.1.3. a list of future events and activities being planned,

10.3.1.4. and an updated copy of the club, society, or resource group’s constitution.

10.3.1.5 Any money received from the GSU must be spent towards mostly graduate student involved events10.4. The Social Events Committee will review these reports and ratify recognized clubs, societies and resource centers for the current semi‐AGM.

10.5. If a recognized club, society, or resource center of the GSU fails to  ratified for three (3) consecutive semi‐AGM’s, the club society or resource center will no longer be recognized by the GSU. At this point the club, society or resource group will need to follow the recognition process as outlined in By‐Law 10.1.10.6. A list of recognized clubs, societies and resource centers of the GSU shall be:

10.6.1. submitted to the BOD, and

10.6.2. publicized for the General Membership by the Executive Director for Campus Life no later than one (1) month after each Semi‐AGM.

10.7. Recognition of any club, society, or resource center of the GSU may be revoked by a 2/3 majority vote of BOD members at any regular meeting.

For any questions, please contact campuslife@gsumun.ca

Dear Club/Society Leader,
Sequel to the decision of the October AGM, all RECOGNISED clubs/Societies were ratified. GSU is therefore Updating the List of Her RECOGNISED clubs/Societies and has reached out to you to fill out the form  https://forms.gle/RZqcMNZ9AfQx9vwC7 that allows you to show your recognized Status.
For those that are yet to send us this information, we urge you to do that as soon as you can, as we will be considering the enlisted club in future communication.

The following Clubs have been recognized and ratified for the 2020/2021 session. Please contact campuslife@gsumun.ca for further inquiries.

Society NameSociety Email/Contact
BGSG (Bangladeshi Graduate Students' Group) MUN bgsg1971@gmail.com
Biochemistry Graduate Societybcgs@mun.ca
Biology Graduate Student Associationbgsa@mun.ca
Chinese Youth Association at MUNmuncgsa@gmail.com
Computer Science Graduate Societycsgs.mun@gmail.com
Digital Archaeology Group (MUN Graduate Student Society)digitalarchaeologygroupmun@gmail.com
jmsinclair@mun.ca
EAGE MUN Student Chaptersudiptac@mun.ca
Geography Graduate Students Associationjotto@mun.ca
Graduate Physics Societygradphysics@mun.ca
Graduate Psychology Societygradpsych@mun.ca
Graduate Students’ Society of Baltimore & Cabot Family Residencygssbcfr.mun@gmail.com
Grenfell Graduate Student Societyggss@grenfell.mun.ca
Human Genetics Student Societymunhgss@gmail.com
Human Kinetics and Recreation Graduate Student Associationrlsb34@mun.ca
Indian Youth Associationiyamun@mun.ca
Iranian Students’ Association at MUN - MUN Iraniansmuniranians@gmail.com
Jordanian Society at Memorial University of
Newfoundland (MUNJO)
aabusaleh@mun.ca
Libyan Students Unionlsu@mun.ca
Marine Institute Graduate Society migs@mi.mun.ca
Medical Graduate Students Society mgss@mun.ca
Memorial University of Newfoundland Vietnamese Students Association (MUN-VSA)mun.vsa.mun.2018@gmail.com
ML-MUNmlmun@mun.ca
MUN Badminton ClubMUNBC@hotmail.com
Political Science Graduate Student Societymunpsgss@gmail.com
jejabena@mun.ca
MUN Graduate Society of Sociologysocgradsociety@mun.ca
MUN Society of Economic Geologists (SEG) mun.segchapter@gmail.com
MUN Society of Exploration Geophysicists Student Chaptersegeophys.mun@gmail.com
Muslim Students' Association (MSA) msapresident@mun.ca
msamun786@gmail.com
Ocean Sciences Graduate Student Association (OSGSA) bgcking@mun.ca
osgsa@mun.ca
Pakistani Students' Associationpsa@mun.ca
Pharmacy Graduate Student Society (PGSS)wmaa75@mun.ca
Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE)-MUN Student Chaptersspe@mun.ca
Sri Lankan Student Associationsecretary.slsamun@gmail.com
Women in Science and Engineering Graduate Student Society (WISE-GSS) wisenlgss@gmail.com
rskk10@mun.ca
Medical Graduate Students Societymgss@mun.ca
Neurodivergent and Disability Alliancee22amd@mun.ca