Clubs & Societies

Looking to get involved in a club or society? Or do you want to create your own club or society? Find the club that you want to join by browsing through our list of ratified clubs and societies.  If you have formed a club or society you can apply for recognition each year for your club  with the GSU. For ratification and recognition, please refer to our consitution available to view here, the relevant bylaws are copied below:

10. Clubs, Associations, societies and resource centres

10.1. Clubs, societies, and resource centers shall be recognized by the GSU upon

10.1.1. submission of the following to the ED Campus Life for consideration,

10.1.2. the names and signatures of at least twenty (20) members that are General Members (Excluding Executives),

10.1.2.1 With the exemption of the student groups directly affiliated with an Academic Unit/Department which shall submit the names and signatures of at least ten (10) members that are General Members, as well as the name and signature of the dean/advisor of the relevant academic unit.

10.1.3. a constitution,
10.1.4. a mission statement for the organization if one is not included in the constitution,

10.1.5. and an up to date list of all executive members including names, department and program of study, student number, and contact details. At least three executive members must be enrolled graduate student in the committee.

10.2. The applications submitted to the Executive Director for Campus Life for consideration will be submitted to the Social Events Committee for review.

10.2.1. The Social Events Committee will supply the BOD with a list of applications for clubs, societies, or resource centers at each monthly BOD meeting for approval.

10.3. Recognized clubs, societies, and resource centers of the GSU shall be ratified at each Semi‐AGM by submitting a ratification form to the Social Events

10.3.1. Application for ratification shall be submitted to the Executive Director for Campus Life (EDCL) and should include:

10.3.1.1. and an up to date list of all executive members including names, department and study of program, student number, and contact details. At least three executive members must be in the committee as an enrolled graduate

10.3.1.2. a list of events and activities that occurred since the last ratification,

10.3.1.3. a list of future events and activities being planned,

10.3.1.4. and an updated copy of the club, society, or resource group’s constitution.

10.3.1.5 Any money received from the GSU must be spent towards mostly graduate student involved events10.4. The Social Events Committee will review these reports and ratify recognized clubs, societies and resource centers for the current semi‐AGM.

10.5. If a recognized club, society, or resource center of the GSU fails to  ratified for three (3) consecutive semi‐AGM’s, the club society or resource center will no longer be recognized by the GSU. At this point the club, society or resource group will need to follow the recognition process as outlined in By‐Law 10.1.10.6. A list of recognized clubs, societies and resource centers of the GSU shall be:

10.6.1. submitted to the BOD, and

10.6.2. publicized for the General Membership by the Executive Director for Campus Life no later than one (1) month after each Semi‐AGM.

10.7. Recognition of any club, society, or resource center of the GSU may be revoked by a 2/3 majority vote of BOD members at any regular meeting.

For any questions, please contact campuslife@gsumun.ca

Ratified As of October 2019 (good until October 2020)

Society NameSociety Email/Contact
Biochemistry Graduate Societybcgs@mun.ca
Biology Graduate Student Associationthlantiegne@mun.ca
Chemistry Graduate societychemgs@mun.ca
Chinese Youth Associationmuncgsa@gmail.com
Digital Archaeology Groupsmwilson@mun.ca
EAGE MUN Student Chaptereage@mun.ca
Engineering Graduate Students' Society (EGSS)egss@mun.ca
FEILD HALL RESIDENCE SOCIETYffarashid@mun.ca
Fisheries Graduate Student Associationfgsa@mi.mun.ca
Geography Graduate Students Associationkirsten.reid@mun.ca
Graduate Physics Societygradphysics@mun.ca
Graduate Psychology Societygradpsych@mun.ca
Graduate Students’ Society of Baltimore & Cabot Family Residencygssbcfr.mun@gmail.com
Graduate Sustainability Societylzmouammer@mun.ca
Grenfell Graduate Student Societyggss.executive@gmail.com
Human Kinetics and Recreation Graduate Student Associationlcv833@mun.ca
Indian youth associationIyamun.ca@gmail.com
Libyan Students Club at Mun (LSC) LSC@MUN.CA
MATHS & STATS GRADUATE STUDENTS' Societyaha566@mun.ca
Medical Graduate Student Society (MGSS)gmrm10@mun.ca
Memorial University of Newfoundland Vietnamese Students Association (MUN-VSA)mun.vsa.mun.2018@gmail.com
MUN Badminton ClubSabirm@mun.ca
MUN Climbing Clubanissen@mun.ca
MUN Gender Studies Societymungenderss@gmail.com
MUN Graduate Political Science Societymunpsgss@gmail.com
MUN Human Genetics Student Society cac761@mun.ca
MUN Mindsmunminds@gmail.com
MUN Society of Exploration Geophysicists Student Chaptersegeophys.mun@gmail.com
MUNIraniansmuniranians@gmail.com
MUN-SEG (Society of Economic Geologists)mun.segchapter@gmail.com
Muslim Students' Associationtanwar@mun.ca
Ocean Sciences Graduate Student Associationxi.xue@mun.ca
Pakistani Students' Associationpsa@mun.ca
Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) - Memorial University Chaptersspe@mun.ca
Sri Lankan Student Associationsecretary.slsamun@gmail.com
WISE-GSSwisenlgss@gmail.com